News Economic Development and Competitiveness

The Basque Government begins to implement the Advanced Manufacturing Strategy in the Basque Country

2014 March 27

The Government, together with 7 Basque companies, the Energy Cluster and the IK4-TEKNIKER technology centre, is the driving force behind an Advanced Manufacturing centre for the wind power sector.

This sector, according to the Basque Government’s Minister for Economic Development and Competitiveness, Arantza Tapia, “is one of our sectors of the future”. This project was set up with the goal of enhancing the technology positioning and international competitiveness of the Basque suppliers of subassemblies and products for the wind power sector.  In the words of the Minister, it is about "being ready to compete with the best".

The Basque Government will invest 4.5 million euros in this specialised and advanced technology project for the energy sector, on machinery that will be located in the IKA4-TEKNIKER centre. The  Ministry of Economic Development and Competitiveness of the Basque Government, led by Minister Tapia, the Director of the Energy Cluster, Jose Ignacio Hormaeche, the IK4 Tekniker Director, Alejandro Bengoa, and representatives of the participating companies were present at the unveiling today of the Advanced Manufacturing Strategy at that centre in Eibar.

This strategy is part of the Industrial Plan and the Smart Specialisation Strategy that the Basque Government is preparing. The Minister stressed that industry in the Basque Country currently accounts for 24.6% of the Gross Domestic Product, over the 20% target set by Europe for 2020.  Even so, the Minister stressed that the Basque Country must increase this percentage and this project is "an important step" for the wind power sector and, therefore, for the Basque industry.

There are still no comments
  • Something to say?… comment on this news
Politicians attending the event
(X term 2012 - 2016)
Other guests
  • Jose Ignacio Hormaeche, director del Cluster de Energía; Alejandro Bengoa, director de Tekniker IK4; Representante de las empresas del consorcio de empresas mencionadas